Sri Sritharan

Interim Assistant Dean &
Wilkinson Chair Professor
College of Engineering
(515) 294-5238

Find published research at



Dr. Sri Sritharan joined the Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering (CCEE) at Iowa State University as an Assistant Professor in December 1999. He became an Associate Professor in 2005 and Full Professor in 2010. He served as the Director of Graduate Education (DOGE) and Associate Chair for Research and Graduate Affairs for the CCEE department from 2007 to 2012, and the faculty Lead for the Wind Energy Initiative of the College of Engineering from 2011. He became the Grace Miller Wilson and T. A. Wilson Endowed Engineering Professor in 2008. In August 2016, he was appointed as the Interim Assistant Dean and Wilkinson Chair Professor in the College of Engineering.

Dr. Sritharan earned his BSc degree with First class Honors in civil engineering from the University of Peradeniya in Sri Lanka and MS degree with Distinction from the University of Auckland in New Zealand. Prior to pursuing his PhD at the University of California at San Diego (UCSD), he worked as a Scientist in the Engineering Seismology section of the Institute of Geological and Nuclear Sciences (GNS) in New Zealand for more than four years. His work at GNS focused in the areas of microzonation, attenuation of ground motions and understanding the behavior of instrumented structures subjected to earthquake loading. He received his PhD in Structural Engineering in 1998 under the guidance of Professor M. J. Nigel Priestley. Prior to joining Iowa State University, he served as an Assistant Project Scientist at UCSD and worked primarily on the PREcast Seismic Structural Systems (PRESSS) program.

His research interests include Earthquake-resistant design and analysis of structures, precast/prestressed structural systems, soil-foundation structure interaction (SFSI), Ultra-high performance concrete (UHPC) and special topics in Wind Engineering and Wind Energy Systems. His research projects have been funded by the National Science Foundation, Department of Energy, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Transportation Research Board, Federal Highway Administration, Department of Transportation in Alaska, California, and Iowa, Iowa Energy Center, non-profit institutions, and private industry.